FATF Presidency

FATF President

The FATF President is a senior official appointed by the FATF Plenary from among its members (see also FATF Presidencies since 1989). In April 2019, the revised Mandate extended the terms of the FATF Presidency to a two-year period.

The term of the President begins on 1 July and ends on 30 June two years after assuming office. The President convenes and chairs the meetings of the FATF Plenary and the Steering Group, and he/she oversees the FATF Secretariat. The President is the principal spokesperson for the FATF and represents the FATF externally.

 Objectives of Singapore Presidency

T. Raja Kumar began a two-year term as President of the Financial Action Task Force (FATF) on 1 July 2022. He succeeded Dr. Marcus Pleyer.

Mr. Raja Kumar has rich leadership and operational experience, having held a wide range of senior leadership roles in the Ministry of Home Affairs in Singapore and the Singapore Police Force for over 35 years. He currently serves as the Senior Advisor (International) in the Ministry of Home Affairs, advising on international policy development, partnerships and engagement. Prior to this, he was Deputy Secretary (International) at the Ministry from January 2015 to July 2021 and was concurrently the Chief Executive of the Home Team Academy between 2014 to 2018. As Deputy Secretary (International), Mr. Raja Kumar forged stronger collaborative relationships with key counterparts in the safety and security arena, including with strategic partners such as INTERPOL and the UN.

Previously, Mr. Raja Kumar also served as Deputy Commissioner of Police (Policy), Director of the Police Intelligence Department, and Senior Deputy Director of the Commercial Affairs Department. He served as the pioneer Chief Executive of the Casino Regulatory Authority and put in place a robust regulatory framework for the new casinos in Singapore, including for anti-money laundering and countering the financing of terrorism (AML/CFT), benchmarked against top-tiered jurisdictions.

Mr. Raja Kumar is a passionate advocate for the FATF and firmly believes in FATF’s mission and ability to make a global difference. He has led Singapore’s delegation at the FATF since 2015 and is the co-lead for Singapore’s national Inter-Agency Committee on AML/CFT. He co-led Singapore’s efforts for its Mutual Evaluation in 2015-2016 and has driven Singapore’s high level of involvement at FATF, including serving as a FATF Steering Group member for the last four years.

Mr. Raja Kumar holds a LLB (Hons.) degree from the National University of Singapore, and a Masters of Philosophy (Criminology & Law) from Cambridge University. He attended the Advanced Management Program at Harvard University in 2006.

Mr. Raja Kumar was awarded Singapore’s prestigious National Public Administration Gold medal in 2021, the Public Administration Silver medal in 2007, and the Public Administration Bronze medal in 1996 for his strong leadership and contributions. He was conferred the National Order of Merit by the Government of France in 2017, carrying the rank of Chevalier (Knight). In recognition of his contributions to the casino regulatory community, he was made a Lifetime Trustee of the International Association of Gaming Regulators in 2011.

Mr. Raja Kumar is a Board Member of the Middle East Institute of the National University of Singapore and also serves as Adjunct Professor in the School of Humanities and Behavioural Sciences at the Singapore University of Social Sciences.

Selected speeches: 



T. Raja Kumar (Singapore)

FATF President 2022-2024


see also FATF Presidents since 1989


 FATF Vice-President 

The FATF Vice-President, is appointed by the Plenary from among its members. The Vice-President assists the President in carrying out his/her responsibilities and stands in for the President when necessary.


Elisa de Anda Madrazo of Mexico assumed her role as Vice-President of the FATF on 1 July 2020. She has been re-appointed for a second term as Vice-President of the FATF, from 1 July 2021 to 30 June 2023.

Ms. De Anda currently serves as Director General in Mexico’s Ministry of Finance and Public Credit. Previously, she served as Attaché to the Mexican Embassy in Washington DC (2015-2019). In addition, in 2016, Ms. De Anda was designated by the Mexican Government as Coordinator of the Mexican Mutual Evaluation Process by the FATF – in collaboration with the IMF. In this capacity she served as the representative and point of contact between the IMF assessment team and the Mexican authorities.

Within the FATF, Elisa De Anda has served as the head of the Mexican delegation, as Co-Chair of the Global Network and Co-ordination Group (GNCG), as member of the Steering Group and as Co-chair of the Contact Group on Malaysia’s Membership.

Before joining the Mexican government, Elisa practiced law as associate in law firms. She received her law degree from Universidad Iberoamericana in Mexico City and has a Master degree in Law (LLM, 2011) from Harvard Law School and a Master in Public Administration (MPA, 2015) from Harvard Kennedy School of Government.



Elisa de Anda Madrazo (Mexico)

FATF Vice President 2020-2023